Call us now ! Send us an email http://maps.google.com/maps?q=Raleigh United States

Back to Top

Cheaper. Faster. Better.
(888) 300-3379

Bail Bondsman Requirements

To qualify to be a bondsman in North Carolina, you must:
1.  … be a resident of the state of North Carolina for at least six consecutive months before applying for a bail bondsman and/or bail bond runner license.

2.  … be at least 21 years of age.

3.  … have a high school diploma or its equivalent (GED).

4.  … complete 12 hours of pre-licensing training from a state-approved school. (That’s us!)

5. … have no outstanding bail bond obligations.

6. … have no current or prior violations of NCGS 58-71 or NCGS 15A-26.


7. … not have been disqualified in any manner under North Carolina law or any other state to engage in the bail bond business.

8.  … not have EVER been convicted of a felony.

9.  … not have had a misdemeanor drug conviction within the past 2 years.
10.... not have a state or federal tax lien.
 
Also, you can’t CURRENTLY be employed as, or be married to anyone employed as a:
Sheriff, deputy sheriff, other law enforcement officer, judicial official, NC licensed attorney, parole officer, probation officer, jailer, assistance jailer, employee of the General Court of Justice, nor any other public employee assigned to duties relating to the administration of the criminal justice. 

If you meet these qualifications, then leave the rest to us.  The NC Bail Academy has a 99.9% PLE comprehensive test pass rate.  Tests are graded immediately and the instructor will review with you the questions you missed and take the time to make sure you understand the correct answer.  You leave class with your certificate in hand and fully prepared for the state exam.  Plus, you can come back to class for free anytime for a refresher before you take the state exam.